Need some help

January 13, 2012 § 1 Comment

I’m working on a story that has to do with the obsession Germans often have for rules. I’m looking for some examples of rules that are either

1. really obscure

2. funny

3. seem to be very illogical

As an example: You can take your dog into many restaurants here and into some cafes but you can’t take your dog into a cafe that is also a bakery.

I really don’t get this one and no one so far has been able to explain it to me. I think it might have something to do with a bakery having a production facility on the premises. But a restaurant is also producing food.

Anyway…if some of you could help me out with examples, I’d be grateful.

Schoenes Wochenende. It’s finally supposed to be sunny here, but of course Pauline has an INDOOR soccer tournament this weekend. Which just goes to show you that you can still be a soccer mom without a car. Go Hertha 03 Zehlendorf!

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Need some help

  • tracifoust says:

    Here is a funny one. My boyfriend, Max (he is a Berliner) we were fooling around in Target one day and I came up with the idea to go to an application kiosk and fill out an app for a job. I suggested we use silly, fake names and weird addresses like, M. Manson, San Quientin, “strong ability to lead small groups of people” So we sat at different kiosks, laughing and being totally immature. I finished my application then went over to see how he was making out. He was only on page one and when I asked him what was taking so long he said, “You have to read all the disclosures first, and if you agree you check a box, but there are many things here I do not agree with.”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Need some help at zeitgeistnorthwest.

meta

