Audio for my story on public radio’s “The World” is up

August 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

You can listen to it here:
http://www.theworld.org/?s=widman

This was a very interesting story to research. When I first heard that this woman failed to stay in the west just two weeks before the wall went up because she couldn’t bear to leave her furniture, I thought: How dumb. But when I interviewed her and got to understand her story, it was really clear to me. I think it’s impossible for Americans to understand the impact of all those border changes after World War II on the average Joe (or Hans as it would be). Of course none of that would have happened if Germany hadn’t started the war. But when I hear stories like Ingeborg’s, it makes me think of the mass of displaced persons these days — most of whom get no press at all. Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Audio for my story on public radio’s “The World” is up at zeitgeistnorthwest.

meta

